Actonians Cricket Club

Actonians Cricket Club - New Year Day Cricket Match


It was a balmy 16 degrees as Actonians began their centenary year with our friends from W4 - Chiswick CC.

Chiswick captain Henry Morris won the toss and inserted the visitors and it was Sam Worrall and Zain Ul Abidin who opened. Zain Ul Abidin was his normal aggressive self as he scored 15 before being stumped by Steve Brooks from the bowling of Ben Hurtig-Isaac, with the score at 46. Matt Robinson then entered the fray and he made a slow start before Sam Worrall took his score to 30 and retired not out. Rakesh Prasher looked to keep the heat on but succumbed to the bowling of Henry Hurtig-Isaac. Owen Brooks then joined Robinson and he carried on his good form from 2021 scoring 17 while Robinson later retired for 35 after finding 6 runs on the short boundary. The lower order then found the going a little tough with some tight bowling from Chiswick however the work had already been done by the top order as Actonians finished on 140 from their 20 overs.

After a quick turnaround Ed Sykes and Suri Gulbir opened for the hosts. Some tight bowling from our juniors - Raj Patadia, Kush Sheth,Laksh Patel and Maan Sheth - made it hard going for Chiswick as they only had 56 on the board after 10 overs and a lot of work to get close to the Actonians score. Gulbir stuck around, however he was eventually bowled by Mushie Mustansar. The dangerous Morris then tried to accelerate the scoring, however found the deep mid-wicket fielder from the bowling of Roheet Gupta. The Sheth brothers and Laksh Patel then finished the job for Actonians with Kush Sheth bowling tightly conceding 11 runs off his 3 overs as Chiswick fell short by 26 runs.

All in all a great day of cricket to kick start 2022, big thanks to our umpires Ash Lakhlani and Carl Bryce and Vic Devers on the pens as well as our hosts Chiswick CC.

Link to Scorecard